From Anger to Action

I was angry but not surprised by the verdict in the George Zimmerman murder trial. I am sad and I hurt for Trayvon Martin’s family but I and not surprised. Surprise is what I would feel if I bought into the delusion of a post racial America, where opportunity is not only equal but plentiful. Surprise is what I would feel if I were naive enough to think that repeating empty mantras like,”We are all Africans!” could actually end racism and white supremacy any more than “color-blindness”. Surprise is what I would feel if I didn’t live in a time where people think that the idea that it is socially unacceptable for whites to use racial epithets constitutes “reverse racism”. Because we all know which direction racism should be aimed, right?

This week some of us were reminded.

20130715-143729.jpg

Tonight Black Freethinkers will host a discussion on the verdict, the trial, social justice, and solutions. Please join Kim Veal at 8 PM EST/ 7 PM CST/ 5 PM PST.

Recommended Reading

On the how the verdict speaks on the value of black lives-http://www.gradientlair.com/post/55440152453/the-verdict-of-not-valuable-on-black-life

Hard lessons for the class of 2013- http://freethoughtblogs.com/blackskeptics/2013/07/15/trayvons-class-of-2013/

On the verdict and dealing with many of the ignorant responses in the freethought community- http://freethoughtblogs.com/greta/2013/07/15/trayon-martin-george-zimmerman-freethought/

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 754 other followers

%d bloggers like this: