Category Archives: Social Justice

From Anger to Action

I was angry but not surprised by the verdict in the George Zimmerman murder trial. I am sad and I hurt for Trayvon Martin’s family but I and not surprised. Surprise is what I would feel if I bought into the delusion of a post racial America, where opportunity is not only equal but plentiful. Surprise is what I would feel if I were naive enough to think that repeating empty mantras like,”We are all Africans!” could actually end racism and white supremacy any more than “color-blindness”. Surprise is what I would feel if I didn’t live in a time where people think that the idea that it is socially unacceptable for whites to use racial epithets constitutes “reverse racism”. Because we all know which direction racism should be aimed, right?

This week some of us were reminded.

20130715-143729.jpg

Tonight Black Freethinkers will host a discussion on the verdict, the trial, social justice, and solutions. Please join Kim Veal at 8 PM EST/ 7 PM CST/ 5 PM PST.

Recommended Reading

On the how the verdict speaks on the value of black lives-http://www.gradientlair.com/post/55440152453/the-verdict-of-not-valuable-on-black-life

Hard lessons for the class of 2013- http://freethoughtblogs.com/blackskeptics/2013/07/15/trayvons-class-of-2013/

On the verdict and dealing with many of the ignorant responses in the freethought community- http://freethoughtblogs.com/greta/2013/07/15/trayon-martin-george-zimmerman-freethought/

Advertisements
Tagged ,
%d bloggers like this: